top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiles Patrick Yohnke

There's no recovery for someone who is dead

By Miles Patrick Yohnke

© 2023 All Rights Reserved.


"We buy things we don't need with money we don't have to impress people we don't like." - Dave Ramsey

"When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down 'happy'. They told me I didn't understand the assignment, and I told them they didn't understand life." - John Lennon

With the never-ending mass shootings occurring and people dying from overdoses, not once have I heard the word 'happy' brought up in a press conference. Not once. You'd think this would be the central part of the solution, and yet, not once has it ever come up. Don't you think there is something terribly wrong with that? Don't you think that all any of us want to be is happy? And yet, it is rarely talked about. You never hear a politician talking about happiness on her or his main platform.


Imagine if we were happy. Content. We wouldn't harm one another. We wouldn't harm ourselves. We wouldn't find cannabis shops & liquor stores on every block. We wouldn't find every other commercial being a gambling one. We wouldn't buy needlessly. We would be content. Happy. At peace with oneself.


Shouldn't we be hearing about 'happiness' more often? More than 'Happy Birthday.' 'Happy New Year.' Do we even think about the essence of the word 'happy' in that context? And yet, that is all anyone of us want to be. Don't you think it is time we ask politicians to champion happiness? For media outlets to talk about happiness? Wouldn't you love to hear that happiness was up in the last quarter?



It is time we bring an end to mass shootings.

It is time we bring an end to people dying from drug overdoses.

It is time we stop harming others.

It is time we stop harming ourselves.

It is time we get 'happy' into the consciousness of humankind.

It is time we get 'happy.'







38,252 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page