top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiles Patrick Yohnke

POTTERY?

© 2016 All Rights Reserved. Used By Permission.


AN INTRODUCTION TO POTTERY


I've rewritten this a few times but finally found the right words. Miles, I often feel things need to be worthy of you. You bring that out in people, you know. That is your gift ... one of them. One of your tools.


You make people ask, "what would Miles think?" It should be a shirt slogan. Or at least a poster with you looking all serious. Kind of like that hang in their cat poster. Except not because there's no cat. And no hang in there.


Just Miles staring at you like you should be painting the Mona Lisa or something world changing.


Be a potter. Miles Patrick Yohnke, you are one for me.


- Alissa Hewison, Monday, March 14, 2016



Alissa Hewison in Miles Patrick Yohnke's kitchen, May 2007.

BE A POTTER FOR SOMEONE


POTTERY?

© 2016 All Rights Reserved. Used By Permission.


Often I have found myself looking within myself and trying to locate the deep rooted crack that I have come to realize I have... in hopes of it's repair.


There have been moments where it has seemed filled or patched, but like any repair, it is weak and fractures with the right pressure, the right shift.


Like many cracks, it's sharp, it cuts deep, and some unseen part of me bleeds out, it festers infection- it pollutes me with darkness.


So much of my life I would have given anything in my being to have this torn away from me, I have on desperate and dark occasions, begged the dead and empty air around me to make it better, to let me just be "like everyone else." I wanted to be whole.


Now -- now I just want to be a potter, because suddenly, I understand that flaw that's been so well hidden within me.


Each one of us has our flaws. Our cracks somewhere in us- invisible to everyone passing by, or a doctor peering over our body. They however, are vibrantly shining to anyone we trust enough to bare our souls to. When we open up and radiate our imperfections, those cracks scream our fears and pains out, rejoice our hopes, dreams, and love. Those cracks are our defining features, our "wrinkles," and without them we are still just moulds waiting for our potter.


We were created, whether you lean towards God's hand or science and your Mother's womb, either way we were formed. Anyone who watches a little grain of rice with a heart beat become a tiny person cannot deny it is a process and an art. First, vague features and lumps form, just as clay on a wheel, and slowly they become defined. We are made, by whatever force you want; it's undeniable that I did not start as me. I was put together according to a specific plan (be it DNA, be it God) - we are all a limited edition of sorts.


As we spin on our wheel, as in any art, sometimes there's a smudge. The clay gets too dry and cracks, or a line is wiggly where it should be straight. And suddenly, the creation is ... "imperfect." The Potter doesn't start over, the artist doesn't throw the paper away; they repair and move on.. and that repair like all repairs, is a little weak.


Maybe my heart smudged, maybe my left knee cracked, and let's be honest here... they left some loose pieces in my head.. but it's why I am the person I've become.


So let's back up a bit here... why on earth do I want to be a potter? I'm a Mom. And I do not fancy making a child as being a potter.. I was just a host for the work... our work begins when we set our feet upon the ground and begin our "life."


Your cracks and mine, they are so different.. you're going to meet people and they are going to make you feel something. Like hope, like healing - they'll get you. You will get them, and maybe you will stay in each other's lives, and maybe you won't - but recognize this. That when it happens, you are potters for each other.


You can mend each other... and you don't even have to try; you just have to open up and be real, care... be human. Put your cell phone down, grab a tea, and make eye contact- ask them how they are and mean it!!! Undo your inhibitions and love. Please..if you do anything in this life, let it be love each other.. and not the let's get naked love-- not the let's get off love... I mean the stare at the stars and share your soul, talk for hours, kind of love. Know someone... Really know them, treat them like your first pet rock as a kid; because let's be real-you knew that rock's everything pit, sparkle, and scratch. (You probably still have it, somewhere.)


My cracks, my broken parts give me tools, give me memories and feelings.


They give me things that I have and are mine. They also require things I do not have to fix them- but there are people with cracks that give them the tools that mend mine... all it requires is trust, love, and actually seeing each other.


Be a potter. I beg of you. No one can fix all of a person, we need to all stop living in our protective shells and give, give ourselves... heal all the darkness out there. Those cracks, they fracture again, they are in constant need of upkeep.... in constant need of human connection. Of love.


Be a potter. Don't toss away the broken and fractured. Maybe your tools won't mend it all, but your love and support will see them through, and will help them find those tools. Let's not throw away people because their eyes are losing that sparkle, or they are losing the fight.


Stop hating the shit that weighs you down. Own it, love it, and work through it -- it allows you to empathize, and to heal.


Be a potter... and just as importantly, let someone be that for you.



Alissa Hewison in Miles Patrick Yohnke's living room, 2007.

Alissa Hewison is a tattoo artist who's passions extend from writing and playing her piano, to time well spent on her motorcycle. Born and raised in Saskatchewan. To learn more about her click on the link provided: https://www.facebook.com/alissa.derdall

14,341 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page