top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiles Patrick Yohnke

EASTLAKE AVENUE

By Miles Patrick Yohnke

© 2022 All Rights Reserved.


She was someone I wanted to meet,

I had seen her downtown - on the street,

Her figure, her face, her elegance, her grace,


Giorgio Armani, Wim Wenders, Patrick O'Hearn,

We shared the same taste in clothes, film and music,

She looked like Catrinal Merghia in "The Whistlers."


Inside her rented room coloured soft sunlit yellow,

She made me my first cappuccino,

She pulled down her Murphy bed,

She offered me her pillow pathway to empowerment.


With her kindness and open mindedness,

She made me inspire to all things.


Near the end of that decade,

With the 1935 castle to the north,

Jeanette made me feel like a King,

She looked like Catrinal Merghia in "The Whistlers."


She packed her bags, she headed west, off to college,

She left me with kindness and open mindedness,

She inspired me to love all people.


With her belongings, she headed west, to Mission Possible Street,

To support immigrants, to support refugees, to integrate, to empower,

To develop harmonious relationships among community groups,

To build a motion picture of one loving, united community,

Transcending outward style with inner elegance,

She looked like Catrinal Merghia in "The Whistlers."

With the continuing compassion that coursed through Mother Teresa.


She left me to drink from the cup of life,

She left me with cherished memories,

Of our time in early '89,

On Eastlake Avenue.



Eastlake Avenue photograph by Marcel Toews



32,589 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page