top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMiles Patrick Yohnke

BROADWAY BRIDGE

By Miles Patrick Yohnke © 2023 All Rights Reserved.

Broadway Bridge, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Miles beneath the Broadway Bridge on the east bank

I was born on November 11, 1932 The number of suns and moons that have risen and set that I have witnessed The bright, clear days followed by the deep dark nights from hour to hour everything changes and all throughout I change by staying the same. The number of gulls and birds that have flown and found solace in my curves Still heads, wings that bend above the breast At times I dreamt of being a bird - entering flight I remember their wings I remember how they flew south I longed for them to return Some did, others left this earth. The number of people who've visited me I have been blessed hearing their stories their laughter their words 'I Love You' was the best Some even proposed in my presence and went on to have blessed lives Some left this earth. The number of songs I've heard and seen performed has pleased me Watching lives dance, stir and move with carefree might, oh what a delight And day broke to night no traffic at that hour just the electric hum of streetlights. Paul Simon carefully crafted a sensational song Art Garfunkel sang it like a seraphim angel It resonated so deep like they knew my thoughts It was these moments I reflected on the most for I couldn't help them It was these times I wished I had a voice to tell them everything would be alright It was these times that I wished I had arms to hug them so I could ease their troubled minds but I couldn't and they fell into the South Saskatchewan River below And left this earth. Every day may not be good but there is something good in every day. The number of days I've had I have been blessed for they built me strong to handle great weight I couldn't wait for the holidays they'd dress me up so festively. And springtime returned then summer, and so too did the canoeists, kayakers, water skiers, sea-doer's for there are so many activities one can enjoy surrounded by lush summer foliage so beautifully green so gloriously beautiful. And then autumn returned with its bright yellow, orange and red coloured leaves One of nature's most beautiful, glorious spectacles. And then winter returned, so too did the snow so many people have taken care of me so many people have cleaned me and with the hoar frost and the rime ice and the ice on the river oh, I wanted to skate away on so exquisitely picturesque a heaven on earth postcard for the beholder my beloved Saskatoon, the Paris of the Prairies. As I was nearing 60 music legend, Joni Mitchell wrote a song and I was mentioned She had visited me often especially in her youth, so too did her friend, Mary Waddington Joni sings of the adventures they had beneath me on the east bank, for I was their safe haven, I was honoured Honoured and touched that she remembered me she named her song Cherokee Louise. I've experienced rallies with environmental concerns Every child matters Black lives matter Peace on earth. I've experienced clouds that blocked the sun I've seen rainbows, double rainbows even triple rainbows, yes, they do occur. And as I look back, I too have experienced both sides now for I was born to bring both sides together.

Miles Patrick Yohnke beneath the Broadway Bridge on the east bank


The photos of myself were taken by Natalie Struck. To learn more about Natalie Struck, please click here: https://nataliestruck.com




To listen to Cherokee Louise by Joni Mitchell, please click here.






This is a wonderful performance with Joni Mitchell from 1994. Cherokee Louise starts at 43:33. Please click here.






Simon & Garfunkel - Bridge over Troubled Water from The Concert in Central Park. please click here.



47,803 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 Comments


miles
Jan 17

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Subject: Just Like Riding a Bike

Release Date: Jan. 17, 2024


"A bicycle ride is a flight from sadness."

- James E. Starrs


"Cyclists see considerably more of this beautiful world than any other class of citizens. A good bicycle, well applied, will cure most ills this flesh is heir to."

- Dr. K. K. Doty


"Crashing is part of cycling as crying is part of love."

- Johan Museeuw


"Bicycles are almost as good as guitars for meeting girls."

- Bob Weir


"Ever bike? Now that's something that makes life worth living! ...Oh, to just grip your handlebars and lay down to it, and go ripping and tearing through streets and road, over railroad tracks and…


Like

miles
Dec 07, 2023

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Subject: Broadway Bridge

Release Date: Dec. 7, 2023


"I see music as fluid architecture."

- Joni Mitchell


"Keep all special thoughts and memories for lifetimes to come. Share these keepsakes with others to inspire hope and build from the past, which can bridge to the future."

- Mattie Stepanek


"All we have is the knowledge passed on to us by our elders, experiences we inculcate and hardly negate. But to bridge the generation gap, one needs to adapt to the new while retaining the goodness of the old."

- Sonali Bendre


"Love is the bridge between you and everything."

- Rumi


I have written a 3-minute poem titled: "Broadway Bridge" which I released earlier this year. There's…


Like

miles
Feb 10, 2023

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Subject: Broadway Bridge

Release Date: Feb. 10, 2023


"I see music as fluid architecture."

- Joni Mitchell


"Keep all special thoughts and memories for lifetimes to come. Share these keepsakes with others to inspire hope and build from the past, which can bridge to the future."

- Mattie Stepanek


"All we have is the knowledge passed on to us by our elders, experiences we inculcate and hardly negate. But to bridge the generation gap, one needs to adapt to the new while retaining the goodness of the old."

- Sonali Bendre


"Love is the bridge between you and everything."

- Rumi


I have written a new 3-minute poem titled: "Broadway Bridge." It is dedicated to the loving…


Like
bottom of page