top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiles Patrick Yohnke

APARTMENT 23

By Miles Patrick Yohnke

© 2022 All Rights Reserved.


Apartment 23 photograph by Marcel Toews, 2022

APARTMENT 23 INTRODUCTION


The year, 2022, marks 30 years that I have lived in this apartment. I have written a poem to commemorate the occasion. An individual, which an artist is, needs to be the price of admission. To surrender to the depths of their very soul. To submerge themselves completely into their work; for the viewer, for the listener, for the reader. This is the price one pays. This is the cost to enter the theatre of art.


Apartment 23 is that very act. I hope you enjoy!


Miles Patrick Yohnke






Miles in his apartment, 2022. Photo by Marcel Toews

APARTMENT 23

By Miles Patrick Yohnke

© 2022 All Rights Reserved. I like the pace,

I like my place,

I like your face,

I like your face,

In my place,

I like my space,

I like your face,

In my place,

I like the pace,

I like my pace,

In my place,

Even more,

Even more than your face,

I pace, I pace, I pace,

I prefer to pace,

In my space,

Than to be with you.




FOOTNOTE TO APARTMENT 23


"There is a very strong energy about your place, almost overwhelming at first, but once I settled in, it was beautiful.


It is your aura and the energy you put out, along with the music and the environment you set up that really puts a person into a great mind frame. Maybe being around someone like yourself has something to do with it. A thinker, a doer, someone who has a passion for life and art. I felt so at ease just relaxing on the couch, letting the music pull me into its world. And not always having the need to speak words aloud, but to just sit and communicate on an energetic level."


- Arlen James

Author of "Angels Love Tragedies."


"Love the pictures, every corner in your place has a vibrant life attached to it, so many people and stories have gone through those doors. My favourite one I think is the balcony one. I remember the day I walked into your place, we sat there to drink coffee like old lost friends just catching up, no introductions, no awkward moments, just litres of black coffee!"


"Every inch of your place can be photographed, and it will be like a museum tour, one will need you there to be the tour guide to tell the story of every piece on the walls, every tiny decorative item on your tables: even your coffee mugs have story!"


- Henry Buitrago

Graphic Artist


Included is a slide presentation, if you will, of my quaint apartment. I've lived most of my adult life in this apartment. Every writing has originated from this space. I've been so blessed that these writings have touched lives in all corners of the world. I'm often asked by my readers what my living quarters are like. I thank my dear friend John Urbano for taking these intimate photographs so that I may share them with you, except for the last one which was taken by Henry Buitrago.


Miles Patrick Yohnke


Please click on image to enlarge




41,221 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page